Addresses for Arequipa Peru

Hola again, family…

So I still haven’t received any info about my flight, which I would kind of like to have so I know the details (and know how much I’ll have to pay for my luggage/etc.). I’ll send out an email as soon as I get that information. Anyways, a few of you have asked about my address information, and as it so happens, I’ve had Peru address information since December, when I got my call…it was all included in my call packet. I haven’t had to share that information until now, since I’ve been in, y’know, Utah and Kansas, but now I get to break it all out.
 
For letters:
If you want to send a normal, traditional letter, it says in my call packet to have you guys send it to the mission office in Arequipa until I can notify you of my address in my first area. It may be down there like it is here, where they tell us to have our family send things to the mission office, and then they forward it on. (Of course, here it got mixed up, and we’ve been getting our neighboring companionship’s mail, and them vice versa, for the past 5 weeks, but that’s neither here nor there. :)) So this may be the address you use for my whole mission…I’ll let you all know if that’s the case or not when I get there. Anyways, here is the address for the mission office. You’ll most likely have to check with the post office/whatever mailing service you use as to how much it costs to send letters/how you do it/etc.
 
Elder Brandon Alberto Smith Randall
Peru Arequipa Mission
Edificio El Pera
Avenida El Ejercito 710, Oficina 7031
Cayma
Arequipa, Peru
 
The Church also provides a service called pouch mail. With pouch mail, you can only send a one-page letter or postcard, but it’s a great option if you’re looking to send me just a little note or something every so often. Here’s what my call packet says: “Items sent by pouch mail use the United States Postal Service (USPS) from your location to Church headquarters, where they are forwarded to the missionary by a private courier along with other Church mail. Pouch mail leaves Church headquarters each Friday. Items received after the pouch has been sent will be held for the next week. Only postcards or one-page correspondences (no envelopes) written on one side of the page may be sent through the pouch. Notebook or other light-weight paper will not process through the USPS machines. Photographs are not acceptable.” Basically, pouch mail is a little bit like what DearElder does for the MTC in a way…you can’t write as much as you could in a normal letter, but they kind of facilitate the mailing for you. Below are the instructions and the address you’ll send it to:
 
“Lay the letter blank side down. Fold the bottom of the letter about one-third of the way up the page and crease. Fold the top of the letter to the bottom of the first fold and crease. Secure the long side with two pieces of tape about one inch in from each end, but do not seal the ends. In the top left corner write your name and complete return address. Affix first class postage in the top right corner. In the middle write the missionary address as follows:
 
Brandon Alberto Smith Randall
 
Peru Arequipa Mission
POB 30150
Salt Lake City UT 84130-0150
 
(The space between my name and the address is there in my call packet, as well as the lack of comma between “Salt Lake City” and “UT,” so I think those are both important to include when you’re addressing the letter…with pouch mail you probably have to keep it pretty exact, so be sure to look at the instructions closely.)
 
So I reread my call packet, and I can send you guys normal letters through pouch mail…I just give it to the mission office, make sure it has a stamp and envelope and everything, it goes to Church headquarters through the pouch, and then they send it on to wherever it goes. That’s much easier than I thought it would be, so I should be able to reply to letters fairly normally, as far as I know.
 
For packages:
Elder Brandon Alberto Smith Randall
Peru Arequipa Mission
Av. Del Ejercito 710, Piso 7°, Of. 702-703
Casilla De Correo: 1884
Yanahuara, Arequipa
PERU
 
It says you will also need the phone number for the mission office, if you’re sending it through a private courier. Their number is: 51 5-427-1485.
 
I think that’s all the address info I have…if you guys have any questions, just email me and I’ll be happy to answer them…or find out the answer, if I don’t know myself. I’ll probably get a bit more info about all this when I’m in Peru, so as always I’ll keep you all posted. Be sure to post the addresses on Facebook/etc. whenever you can. I love you all, and I’m thankful for all you guys have done, and still do, to help make my mission experience wonderful. I know I say that a lot, but really, I can’t thank you enough.
Con amor,
Elder Randall
Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

